Oxford save best for last

Published: 20 August 2017

In their final match of the season Oxford City’s seniors gained their first outright win of the year, beating hosts Ealing, Southall and Middlesex, Herne Hill Harriers and City of Portsmouth AC. This victory means that Oxford keep their place in Division 2W next season. In bright sun but a strong blustery breeze, Oxford started well, with Gareth Davies winning the men’s A string 400m hurdles, and Kathryn Munday winning the women’s B string. After that wins came thick and fast during the day, and Oxford led throughout the event. Oxford won A and B strings in a number of event and there were outstanding performances from Matthew Gain (five wins in A string 100m, A string 200m, B string high jump, B string pole vault and 4 x 100m relay)and Tim Stephens (four A string wins in 110m hurdles, 400m, high jump and javelin). For the women’s team, ever-present Sarah Davies took wins in the B string 800m and 1500m, while Liz Barker took the A string 1500m and came close in the A string 800m and 3000m. Kathryn Munday took first in the B string steeplechase, while Emma Parker and Karen Cove took wins in the A and B string high jump. Danielle Anderson won B string shot and A string javelin, Danielle Garden won the B string javelin and sister Cat won the B string discus. For the men, Pat Wilson won the B string 400m, Will Gardner won the B string 800m, Jon Holmans won a fast 5000m race in 15:48.03, Aidan Whiting won a tight B string 110mH race in 16.46, Mike Barough won the B string men’s long jump, Gareth Davies jumped over 12m again to win the A string triple jump, Gary Walter won the B string shot, Mark Warland the A string discus, Tony Palman-Brown the B string hammer, and Mark Warland the B string javelin. This was a fantastic team effort, with Oxford athletes rarely being out of the first two places in every event. With their first win of the season Oxford’s place in Division 2W is secure, and with so many talented juniors coming through, can look forward to another exciting year of athletics in 2018. Thanks also go to our loyal officials, David Stephens and Ben and Jonathan Davies.

Back to News...
Back to Top